Efficacy of active ingredients

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Red Kev

Reaction score
HI all, forgive the cynic in me as I am new to soap making, but am searching for an answer to my wife's psoriasis (and my dog's eczema, but wife comes first, right) and am wondering about the efficacy of active ingredients in cp soap.

For instance, from my reading some of the prime ingredients to combat or more likely soothe psoriasis are: manuka oil, neem, pine tar, honey, oatmeal, kiwifruit oil, jojoba, evening primrose oil, rose hip oil etc. But am wondering how much of their reputed therapeutic values remain once they've been through the saponification process.

Even if one were to throw them in at a medium trace, would the amounts be so small as to have no effect? I am thinking here of, say, jojoba or green tea powder, both of which are prohibitively expensive to use in large quantities. Although my wife is worth every cent :wink: I'm really looking at percentages of like 2-3% of such ingredients -- are they still working at such small volumes?

BTW, if anyone has any suggestions or has had any success with a psoriasis soap or with particular ingredients I'd be very grateful for information: her psoriasis literally came out of nowhere about five years ago during a trip to England and we've tried everything to reign it in, but everything we've tried has little or only temporary effect.

(Dog's eczema is due to an allergy to red meat. Go figure.)

many thanks,
sam

My daughter has eczema and other skin problems. We've found the best thing that helps lessen the flare ups is just plain 100% olive oil soaps.

I'd keep the more expensive ingredients to make her a lotion, since soap gets washed off right away.