ISO vanilla essential oil

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

evergreen

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm trying to only buy essential oils and NOT fragrance oils. My sister has requested a lightly scented vanilla soap for Christmas. I've bought most of my essential oils from Wholesale Supplies Plus. They only have a fragrance oil.

I found a Vanilla Oleoresin, Water Soluble from MMS...I have no experience with this type of fragrance additive. Is it natural or synthetic? It appears to be quite expensive. Has anyone had any experience with it? Should I simply break my rule and buy an FO for a family member gift?

Has anyone used vanilla extract (maybe a glycerin based one?) in a hot process soap? What about real vanilla bean?

evergreen said:
Hi,

I'm trying to only buy essential oils and NOT fragrance oils. My sister has requested a lightly scented vanilla soap for Christmas. I've bought most of my essential oils from Wholesale Supplies Plus. They only have a fragrance oil.

I found a Vanilla Oleoresin, Water Soluble from MMS...I have no experience with this type of fragrance additive. Is it natural or synthetic? It appears to be quite expensive. Has anyone had any experience with it? Should I simply break my rule and buy an FO for a family member gift?

Has anyone used vanilla extract (maybe a glycerin based one?) in a hot process soap? What about real vanilla bean?