advice on using turmeric in cold process for color?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

brookiecookie

Reaction score
I am pretty new to soap making and have made about 12 batches of cold process soap so far. I am starting to experiment with natural coloring. I am going to try turmeric first and was just wondering if anyone had advice on the best way to use it, as well as how much.

Thanks! :lol:

Last edited by a moderator:
Paprika is supposed to give a reddish orange color at 1 TBSP PPO . Use the same method as below to add it to your soap.

I have read to use about 1 TBSP PPO of tumeric to get various shades of yellow . You can mix it with water or glycerin into a paste and add it to your soap before you pour into a mold.

HTH

Kitn

I have done it the way kitn mentions, however I could not get it smooth--there was always flecks. I put some in a teabag and infused it in some olive oil, and it gave my normally white recipe a very pale yellow tinge.

brookiecookie said:
I am pretty new to soap making and have made about 12 batches of cold process soap so far. I am starting to experiment with natural coloring. I am going to try turmeric first and was just wondering if anyone had advice on the best way to use it, as well as how much.

Thanks! :lol:

I just got on here to ask the same thing! I had to buy some turmeric for my pickled zucchini and as I was making it, it rang a bell that it can be used to color soaps!

How about adding it to the lye water after it is cooled before adding it to the oils?
Or, holding our some oils until trace, mixing the turmeric with it then adding it back in?

The one time I added color to something, it wasn't smooth at all, so I thought I'd ask first!

Brookie if you do it, be sure to post so we know what it turned out like!