Newbie Here, Need Help With Buying Supplies

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

phiphi187

Reaction score
Hi Everyone!

Seeing as I'm new to this I thought I'd ask some pros what kind of supplies I am going to need.
I like the m&p glycerin base but am struggling to find a place to buy in bulk without really high costs. I am in NC if that helps, someone suggested Hobby Lobby but I know it will be expensive there if I buy a lot.

Can anyone give any suggestion to where to buy (online or physical address in or close to Charlotte NC)
I also need the colors, fragrances and molds

Thanks

Jos

Do NOT buy from Hobby Lobby. The base will be inferior, have an odd odor & cost 2-3X more than it should.

What do you call bulk?

I shop here: wholesalesuppliesplus.com Shipping is already included in the prices. You can grab coloring, fragrance and a mold or 2 while you are there.

columbusfoods.com has good prices on 24# boxes.

Hi

Thanks for responding,

I guess by bulk I mean 50lbs or more, I am hoping to join with a friend of mine in opening a handmade soap/candle store in my town.

I have very sensitive skin and would like to make a soap that I can use without breaking out, as well as supplying great scented ones also.

I looked at the site you buy from and I think they go up to 24lbs? I love that they have honey, oatmeal, goats milk etc bases too!

Thanks

Jos

So you wanna buy 50 pounds of any mp soap you can find and sell it to people? You need to research this for awhile first... I suggest buying two pounds from every supplier you can find... recruiting friends and family to be testers for you, and take amazing notes for the next year or two... then it'll be a good idea to look for 50 pounds...

Hi

Thats why I am on a soap making forum, to get others' opinions on the soap quality as well as price.

Thanks

Jos