~*~ SMF November 2017 Challenge - 1920's Themed Soap! ~*~
~ November 2017 Challenge Photo Entry Thread~

Help Support Soapmaking Forum by donating using the link above or becoming a Supporting Member.
Soap Making Forum > The Soap Making & Craft Forum > Lye-Based Soap Forum > bubble bars

Old 02-04-2009, 08:36 PM   #1
sandra

Liked 2 Times on 1 Posts

Default bubble bars

Hi all, just wanted to start by saying I'm a complete newbie but am learning so much from all of you. Thanks for all the help.
I have a question about bubble bath bars. I've made a couple of batches but so far none of the batches had long lasting bubbles. Is there a trick that I don't know about. My kids are a disappointed that my bars aren't as good as LUSH's (which I refuse to buy, too much $$$)

Old 02-04-2009, 08:44 PM   #2
Tabitha

Liked 98 Times on 33 Posts

What are you using as a detergent? I rember reading somewhere on this forum that Lush uses 3 dif detergents in theirs. Search Lush & you may find the thread. I thnk there are 2 Lush threads floating about.

Old 02-04-2009, 11:17 PM   #3
sandra

Liked 2 Times on 1 Posts

Default bubble bars

Thanks for responding so quickly. I looked up LUSH's bubble bars. They have: sodium lauryl sulphate, lauryl betaine (is that the same as coco betaine?) and cocoamide DEA (which I have on order but haven't received yet). I'll have to try that combo. Thanks for the help. If I ever get a recipe that holds its bubbles I'll post it for everyone.

Old 02-04-2009, 11:22 PM   #4
carebear

Liked 55 Times on 49 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default Re: bubble bars

Quote:
Originally Posted by sandra
Thanks for responding so quickly. I looked up LUSH's bubble bars. They have: sodium lauryl sulphate, lauryl betaine (is that the same as coco betaine?) and cocoamide DEA (which I have on order but haven't received yet). I'll have to try that combo. Thanks for the help. If I ever get a recipe that holds its bubbles I'll post it for everyone.