Creative Cost-Effective Containers for Shave Soap

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I'm making some shave soap for Christmas gifts. It's my first attempt, but thanks to you all there are some great recipes on here, so I'm not worried about the actual soap. I'm more interested in how to package it in a way that is attractive yet practical. As far as the shape of the soap, I can do rectangular bars, 3.5" rounds or pipe it into bowls. I would love to place the bars in a shallow bowl with a shave brush, but WOW are wooden bowls expensive. Any suggestions on how to package or where to start looking? I've never personally used a shave brush, so I'm honestly not even sure how it works exactly to know best how to package it to prevent slippage, etc. Y'all are always so creative and ready to help, so please know, in advance, that you are very much appreciated!

I would put it in the containers directly - it sounds like you are doing a harder soap, mix of KOH and NaOH, right? From the slow cooker, put it in to the containers rather than a larger mould.

You want something wider rather than taller. You want it big enough so that you get the amount of soap you want in there, but with some space from the top of the soap to the top of the container (swirling when there is no lip to start off with means a bit of a mess!). Something hand-sized (manly hands!) is ideal to be honest.

Material - anything, really. Glass, ceramic, plastic or wood. Bear in mind that it will be with slippery hands and what is usually a hard bathroom floor, so I would go for plastic or wood. As it is gifts, plastic tubs seem to be the best bet.

I'd get bowls or mugs from the thrift store.

Bob Evans mashed potatoes come in a package of 2 single servings - 6 ounces each. The bowl they come in has the 5 on the bottom.