Glycerine-Based Not Very Lathery

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Moneer81

Reaction score
Hello,

I am new to making soap and to this forum as well. I made my first batch using blocks of glycerine from Hobby Lobby that I melted in a pot, then added some vitamin E oil, lilac essential oil, and yellow coloring. It turned out fine, but the soap did not produce much sud when used. I tried a second batch with similar ingredients and also added some olive oil. I think I might have added too much oil but the soap still doesn't have much lather when used.

Does anyone have suggestions on how to improve my soap? I know that the best soap is made from lye and other bases but we're just trying to make some wedding favors and have already invested quite a bit in ingredients, so we would like to use the glycerine blocks if at all possible, and make somewhat decent soap. Any advice/recipes/links will be appreciated!

Thanks

I've read that melt and pour soap can be notoriously non-lathery.

Try adding sugar or castor oil to your base. I wouldn't add olive oil though, it won't do anything for the lather.

Low suds is a big complain about M&P. The customers do not seem to mind, but the maker do. You can purchase M&P shaving soap base online & it is formulated to have extra lather. You can even blend it 50 50 w/ standrad base. You will save a lot of money ordering online too. You will pay for shipping but the product cost will probably be 1/2 of a hobby shops retail price.

When I first started, I used a craft store base and found it to be really bad as far as lathering went. I think adding the vit. E cuts down on your lather too. As far as lathering boosters, someone once suggested to me to add sugar to the base to help, I believe it was equal parts regular sugar to base but can't quite remember.