looking for bath bomb tips

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sappington

Reaction score
Hi everyone

Hoping I could get some assistance on my bath bomb recipe.. I've been making these for about 4 months now.. reading one thing online, ordering new inputs, and testing and so far so bad.. They look and smell wonderful; foam, spin, and color the water beautifully... but the hardness just isn't there

My recipe is:

264 g baking soda
132 g citric acid
28g coconut oil
.28 fl oz espresso oil
.28 fl oz PS 80
7g coffee grounds
40g SLSA(10% baking soda + citric acid)
40 g Kaolin clay(10% of baking soda + citric acid)
1 tsp of Mica
1-2 sprays of witch hazel(usually don't only if mix seems dry)

Here are a couple things I've tried
1. Bentonite clay(removed from recipe because of moisture absorbing qualities and gray color)
2. Labomb colorants( was told the glycerin attracts water, substituted mica for it)
3. Using a dehumidifier to get humidity to 30-40% in house
4. Putting in oven for 45 minutes
5. Epsom salt
6. Dropping coconut oil to 20g( looked pretty but SO soft & powdery)
7. Removing coffee grounds( was told they draw moisture but I didn't see a big difference)

I'm open to ANY advice on this...

At this point, my next variables to try out are subbing apricot kernel oil for the coconut oil, using 99% rubbing alcohol instead of witch hazel, and if that doesn't work shea butter instead of oil

Thank you in advance for any help, I'm excited to learn!

Bath bombs

I use oil that are hard at room temp.
I also add clay to retain fragrance and cream of tartar

I also add slsa and add coconut oil. shea butter. cocoa butter until they take shape and then press them.. they keep there shape wonderfully.