Arrowroot powder for thickening?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jazminhannah

Reaction score
Hi everyone. I am still a beginner soap maker, but I have come up with a product that I really like unfortunately with one big problem - texture! It's super liquidy and too thin for my liking. I tried thickening the actual base (castile soap) with a salt mixture, but then soon after I add all my other oils it goes right back to being very thin. :headbanging: I read about arrowroot powder (I am sticking to natural ingredients) for thickening, I picked some up but am unsure how to actually use it. Or any other way to thicken. Thanks everyone for your help!

For info for clarification! I am trying to make a shampoo. My base is castile paste that I diluted (at 3.5) to liquid castile. Then I thickened the base using a 20% salt mixture to my desired thickness. Then after, I add fractionated coconut oil, witch hazel, jojoba oil, vegetable glycerin, and essential oil. After I add those ingredients, soon after my soap reverts back to it's original thin texture which I hate! I just want to create a thicker texture for the shampoo.
jazminhannah is online now Report Post

Last edited:
What exactly are you trying to make? Are you using liquid castille or bar castille? What are you trying to add? More information will help us try to help you!

Welcome to the forum!

Sorry, more info for clarification! I am trying to make a shampoo. My base is castile paste that I diluted (at 3.5) to liquid castile. Then I thickened the base using a 20% salt mixture to my desired thickness. Then after, I add fractionated coconut oil, witch hazel, jojoba oil, vegetable glycerin, and essential oil. After I add those ingredients, soon after my soap reverts back to it's original thin texture which I hate! I just want to create a thicker texture for the shampoo.