Pear Mead CP Soap

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Nobellius

Reaction score
I made a 1 lb batch of CP Soap using Pear Mead rather than water. The Mead reacts with the lye pretty strangely, it boils almost instantly so I had to go reeeeaal slow with it and it took quite a while to trace with the stick blender.

Also, as far as using recycled fry oil goes, I'm in the "USE IT" camp, for sure. Half of this batch was recycled soy bean oil, 25% coconut oil, and 25% corn oil. I added "some" vegetable glycerine and about 8 drops of Japanese Lotus Blossom FO. The golden color of the soap is its natural state. I tried to swirl it - one with red, one with black - but I am no artist the way some of you folks are ;) We'll work on that.

Cast most of this in the bottom of a milk jug and the rest in a mini pie tin. Which was actually plastic, but, honestly, who says 'pie plastic?' Lol It took about 8 hours before it was firm enough to cut, but I think it turned out pretty well. And it's really bubbly. In the graphic below, those suds are just from rinsing out the pot during clean up.

Pear Mead Soap.jpg

Bubbles.jpg

Looks like some nice soap!

I have some advice for your next batch.

If you are going to use recycled oils, make small batches of soap, as the oils will already be partially oxidized due to earlier heating and your soap is more likely to go rancid quickly. Also soy oil and corn oil are prone to rancidity even when used fresh. If you use your soap up relatively fast, probably not too much cause for concern.

Scent level per pound of oils used is typically .5 to 1 ounce. 8 drops is not likely to smell like much.