Body Butter Recipe

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MrsHearnie

Reaction score
Hi all,

I am a newbie & have just purchased ingredients to make my first body butter. I have done a forum search & can't seem to find a basic starter recipe that works with what I have (or rather I'm not sure how to use what I have to get the best out of it)

So, I have shea butter, cocoa butter, jojoba oil, vitamin e oil, macadamia oil, sweet almond oil & FO. I'd like a basic recipe to follow & add different oils or omit the different oils etc. so maybe a percentage recipe as a guide? Any help would be greatly appreciated

I can't speak for anyone else, but for my own body butter, I like to use a ratio of 70% butter to 30% oil.

IrishLass :)

IrishLass said:
I can't speak for anyone else, but for my own body butter, I like to use a ratio of 70% butter to 30% oil.

IrishLass :)

This is what I use as well. I tried 60/40, but I like a thicker butter.

I cannot say enough good things about this blog. I don't know if you are interested in an anhydrous body butter (no water) or a very thick lotion (often called body butter in high end shops). This is just a sample entry. Poke around and you will find answers to lots of questions.

The author also sells e-books that compiles blog information in a more organized form on hair products, lotions, etc. Proceeds go to support youth groups.

http://swiftcraftymonkey.blogspot.com/2 ... dy_31.html

Great! Thanks so much for the replies :) oh & yes! I remember looking at that blog once a while ago & forgot about it! Will definitely go back & look! I'd like tho for no water & just keep it more simple for myself for now

My basic recipe is 70% butter, 25% oils, 2% cyclo, 2% IPM, 1% Vit E. I've gone higher on the butter % but it hardens too much and doesn't stay soft and whippy.