Very interesting soap fail

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

evatgirl73

Reaction score
Yes, I'm a beginner so this may be something you seasoned soapers have seen many times, but here goes:
This is a batch with coconut, crisco, canola, almond, walnut and castor oils. Run through soapcalc, SF 8%. So far so good, right? :)
After reading here for a few days I wanted to try something different and decided to take part of the batch aside to prevent gel and try out an oval PVC mold. I normally CPOP in silicone molds and that has been working really well for me. Most of this batch was scented with Jasmine and went in a silicone log mold, CPOPed and cut beautifully, can't wait to try it in a few weeks
soap3.jpg

The portion I set aside, I scented with a different FO (Pink Sugar from WTS) and poured into the oval PVC mold, and then topped that off with the leftovers of Jasmine after filling the log mold. The *only* difference between the two portions is the FO. I set it out in the garage (as cold as the fridge right now) and waited to see what would happen.
I unmolded it a little more than 24hrs later, it was only filled about 5" and the top part looked nice (the jasmine portion). The Pink Sugar part looked bright gold and was much softer than the jasmine part, which had also penetrated part of the PD because I was pouring it from a distance.
I cut it and set to cute.
This is what it looks like today, 2 days after making:
soapmistake.jpg