help with this soap recipe!

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

aimeruni

Reaction score
I am new to making soap and have never made it before. NOTE: the instructions for the brown sugar oat soap says to use hot process soap method.

If soap making terminologies are used, please explain what they are, because as stated above I have never made soap before so am not familiar with these terminologies.

I found a recipe (listed below) that is the closest to what I could find. However, I would like to use milk in place of the water; how would this effect the procedure of making the soap?

I'd also like to add a small amount of shea butter; how much would I add (recipe yields 2 lbs.) Please specify in weight not percentage; soap making recipes that list ingredients as percentages confuse me.

I found a different recipe which is perfect. (link listed below) However it says to use a 1200 gram mold; what is this in pounds/ounces; I use customary measurements, not metric that is why I ask.

https://zendesigns.co.nz/oatmeal-milk-honey-soap-recipe/

Crisco — 9.6 ounces or 272.155 grams
olive oil — 9.6 ounces or 272.155 grams
lard — 6.4 ounces or 181.437 grams
coconut oil (76-degree melt point) — 6.4 ounces or 181.437 grams
distilled water — 12.16 ounces or 344.73 grams
lye — 4.463 ounces or 126.524 grams
1/3 cup ground oatmeal
1 ounce fragrance oil
1/2 cup brown sugar

1200 grams=

2.636 pounds
42.32875 Ounces
I am very new to soap making. If you add any other
Oils my understanding is that you should run the
Recipe through a lye calculator. And I have never heard of lye being
Disolved in anything but water and I did read about coffee being used
One time

Well first of all this is a terrible recipe. Half a cup of brown sugar? That is ridiculous. 1/3 cup of ground oat meal is also too much - it will make your soap feel like sandpaper.