Density of soap?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dxw

Reaction score
I am new to all this, but enjoying immensely ... as long as I don't dwell too long over this morning's effort.

Anyways, I do not have any of those nice silicone moulds yet and bash some timber scraps together, and throw in some baking paper, to make my soap moulds. I need to make a mould for the batch I'm hoping to prepare (rebatch) later today.

It weighs 1.75kg, so what volume should I be looking at if I want to use the one mould? Given the fatty / oily derivation of soap I am assuming it's density is <1 ... but how much? I guess I could just make my mould able to hold 2l or 2.5l to cover my options.

btw, these moulds are very temporary and slap-dash so they do not need to be exactly-anything.

A mold 12-14" (30-36 cm) long on the inside should be able to hold almost 4 pounds of soap (your 1.75 kilos), if the other dimensions are pretty close to 'standard' (9 cm by 6 cm for height/width) for a loaf mold. I'd err on the side of making it longer.

A mold 12-14" (30-36 cm) long on the inside should be able to hold almost 4 pounds of soap (your 1.75 kilos), if the other dimensions are pretty close to 'standard' (9 cm by 6 cm for height/width) for a loaf mold. I'd err on the side of making it longer.

Brilliant, thanks you very much. I've thrown together some timber and clamps to make 6cm (variable) x up-to-10cm x 40cm which will hopefully let me make 6 x 9 x 40 (ish). Fingers crossed.

I don't know if this will help, but you might see if my mold size calculator would be helpful. See here: https://goo.gl/CPmpsh

Thanks DeeAnna. That *is* going to be useful in the future, but it seems to start a bit early in the process for my present problem.

Those dimensions were perfect, thanks.

soap mould.jpg

Awesome! How'd the rebatch turn out?

Ummm, I learned that you could burn soap :)