Glycerin Method and Product Accounting

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lady-of-4

Reaction score
Just signed up today but i've been doing Liquid Soap for a few years now. I've been reading up the glycerin method, and so far I've only found tutorials on using it. But no material on the what's and why's of this method. I'd honestly like to know if this method has any extra benefits to an overall receipe's properties, ie bubbles and conditioning. Why this over water aside from the speed up in cook time? Does it also help make a clearer finished product? I've saw one small thread about it posted almost a year ago, but no updates it seems. So I'd love for folks to chime in on their experience before I jump on the band wagon and invest more money into what I make.

Also, after much internal debate, coupled with time working on this, and questions of "when?" after gifting a well liked item, I'd like to start small scale selling my soap and other home made goodies. I only make a handful of types for now, and all for personal use for my family, for the passed 2 years. I've already invested in the SM3 program so I can start getting organized, which is quite handy might I add, and i'm still navigating around with it. My question on this is, what are your recommendations for accounting for persoanl use ou of a batch of product? If there's a way in the program, I haven't found it yet. What I plan to sell would be in smaller portion bottles compared to what I normally fil for our use.

In advance, i really appreciate any input given.

Of course not!

Thank you!
How do you adjust for different protion sizes, like I fill 12oz bottles for me and my daughters' use (don't want to have to constantly refill their bottle often since they share, and are still learning portion control) and I give away/plan to sell 8oz portions.

Nevermind, i found it. Thanks again.