Body wash and preservatives

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Lazyday

Reaction score
I was wanting to make a body wash similar to an Olay moisturizing one. I'm brand new at this so forgive me if I sound like an idiot :)

I'm thinking of using Dr. Bronners liquid Castile as the soap and adding in my butters/oils/fragrance. I would need an emulsifier, but not a preservative, correct?

What if I added some aloe? Would I need preservative to cover that?

Finally, what if I used grated soap and water? I'm assuming I would the need a preservative?

I'm trying to avoid preservatives in the lotions I want to make by ticking to solids, but this body wash idea has me flummoxed, particularly because google is telling me that nobody makes body wash. Is there a reason for this? I've not used homemade soap before, but I've always found Castile soap to be too drying in the high desert, but I would really like to start avoiding the purchased stuff.

Thanks!

Anytime you add water you need to add a preservative. If your aloe contains a preservative, then you probably won't need to add extra for just it, but if you add water to the solution, you will need a preservative.

LSG is right! ANYTIME you use water you will need a preservative!

Is there any particular reason you're looking to stay away from preservatives? I used to avoid them like the plague, but after finding preservatives that meet my needs as well as the guiding principles of my company, they're not so bad anymore!

I def agree about castile soap being too drying, though! Have you thought about maybe using some premade bases for your body wash? Or trying to make some solid body bars?