Newbie: Basic and simple hot/cold process soap making

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

timmy76

Reaction score
Hi everyone! :) i'm from Belgium and i have tried making soaps with MP but very interested in trying cold or hot process soap. But since i'm a complete beginner i was wondering if anyone can give me or point me to a simple/easy recipe? Appreciate the help! :) thank you!!

Hey and welcome!

If you will wander through the beginner section, it is loaded with recipes and tips. And you will learn much that you did not even know that you needed to know! Be sure to pay attention to the stickies in there. They have loads of info that you will need to understand. Basic ideas from the acronyms we use to zap testing that you need so that you will begin speaking the language.

Last edited:
Welcome to the forum.
You already got some real good advice ( no surprise) .

If you have no aversion to animal fats lard in combination with olive oil ( pomace works just as well as the more expensive) and coconut or palm oil will make a nice soap. One of the stickies is a soapcalc tutorial and is very much worth bookmarking for recipe use.

Each one of us uses their own blends after a bit . Several of them are very similar.
You may notice that the lardinators replied quickly to your questions.

Hi Timmy :) One of my best internet friends is from Belgium, but he lives in China. I call him "Belgish" and he yells at me, lots of fun!!
Yes, tell us what oils you have available to you, and what you want from a soap, and we can help you with a recipe. Oh and let us know if you are willing to use pig fat / lard in soap, some of us just looooove lard and like to spread the joy :p

Hi dixiedragon! I have virgin coconut oil, olive oil and canola. I have basil, mint, lemon, lavender, grapefruit d a whole bunch of other EO's. :)