New "picky shaver dude" here

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

psfred

Reaction score
With the help of this lovely forum I've manage to make a few batches of shaving soap that work really well.

I did cheat a bit -- I'm a chemist by trade.

I get the feeling I'll be up to my ears in soap soon, I have a tendency to sort of go overboard with new hobbies....

Peter

Congratulations on making your first soaps, Peter! Up to your ears in soap, eh? You'll find many kindred spirits here! Enjoy!

Lol, I'm sure one could end up with hundreds of pounds of soap trying all the possible variations of moisturizing superfats!

I do plan to try using some soy wax instead of stearic acid just so I won't be using palm products, but I really don't think there is much point in making soap with every available substance -- in the end, for shaving soap the requirement for high stearic/palmitic acid levels and need for oleic and linolenic acids limits what you can do.

Peter

Hi Peter and welcome! Congrats on the shaving soap. I'm still sorting out my recipes with several testers giving feed back. The one I'm most interested in is the guy that shaves his head and his face. Bit of a different razor technique & skin type I'm sure but still interesting, lol. I've got several females giving input too since the body parts we shave can be a bit more sensitive. My PVC pipe is lined and ready for my next batch!

Soaping is SO addicting......:crazy:

Welcome Peter! :wave: I'm sure you'll feel right at home amongst our many self-described "crazy wet shaving dudes" in no time!

IrishLass :)

Welcome!

I do plan to try using some soy wax instead of stearic acid just so I won't be using palm products