Can I substitute water with coconut milk?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi

I'm pretty new to soap making and I was wondering if I can sub water with coconut milk with the recipe? Thanks!

Neem Soap.jpg

Welcome StephanieLeong! :wave:

Yes- you can substitute water with coconut milk (or any other kind of milk for that matter).

I was looking at your recipe, and I just wanted to mention that if it were me, I would lower the castor oil to no more than 10% tops for this type of formula. I love castor oil in soap and use it as high as 23%, but only if I have at least 60% hard fats/butters in the formula. Too much castor in a formula with more soft oils than hard can make for a rather sticky/tacky feeling soap. I would add the remaining 8% to the olive oil, but that's just me.

Also- I just wanted to mention that milk soaps can be rather tricky animals to work with, especially for a beginner. I recommend that you use the 'split-method' of milk soaping to make your coconut milk soap. I find that it's the easiest, most hassle-free way to make milk soap.

IrishLass :)

One little thing (you're probably aware, but I just want to make sure), Neem has a very strong scent that some people find unpleasant. And even used at a small percentage, that scent often comes through in the final soap. To me, it smells like rotten chicken soup. It's unfortunate, since it's a wonderfully healing oil when applied topically.

I have cut the neem smell a bit with one part tea tree oil and two parts lavender. To me, the three scents worked really well together. It was in a lotion and I didn't find the neem smell repulsive by itself, so your experience may vary.