Preservatives and the role of liquids in body butter?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

milky

Reaction score
I have a few questions about formulation. Also not sure how to proceed with someone who really wants to buy.
So, for Christmas I made some body butter to give to close family. I think it could be called body butter anyways.. It didn't contain any water because I didn't have any preservatives on hand. Is that butter or balm? There were two versions. One was just whipped shea butter and rosehip seed oil. The other one contained shea, lard, coconut oil (maybe?), rosehip seed oil, and a little fragrance. I put them in baby food jars and labeled with a sharpie. Super campy.

Everyone loved it which is neat but I know I'm not experienced enough to sell any and my step mom has a coworker/friend who keeps bugging her about buying some. I don't remember the exact recipe I used though, and probably should add stuff like ROE and a preservative.. Unless she liked it because it didn't contain any.. That got me to wondering how necessary a preservative would be if I kept it without water. Then I wondered why there aren't more formulations like that. Is there anything wrong with it? Why add liquids? Does water help the oil apply or moisturize better and how important is it? I vaguely remember reading the answer somewhere but it's lost to me now.

If I go ahead and make some more, what, if any, preservative should I add? Phenonip? Would Optiphen work? If I wanted to make a goat milk lotion as well, would I be able to use the same preservative or would it be have to be different because of the water content?