Check Me?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BrewerGeorge

Reaction score
This is a GLS paste I made last night.

70% high-oleic safflower
20% coconut oil 76F
10% cocoa butter, bleached and descented

I did not cook this, just stirred occasionally over a few hours and hit it with the SB a couple times.

DLfSjH9.jpg

Accidentally posted without finishing...

I wanted to run this by the gurus here because this paste isn't clear the way my last attempt was and seems visually to have stopped at the 'mashed potato' phase. However, it does not zap and does lather as much as you'd expect a high-oliec soap to lather. It seems done, but doesn't look like I'd expected.

Is it just the cocoa butter making it cloudy?

I'm a Ls newbie myself, but that's what my paste looked like except it was more taffy-like than mashed potato like. When it was diluted, it came out a crystal clear amber color. I'm guessing that if it doesn't zap, it will be fine; and it will dilute a clear amber color. :)

If it does not zap, it is soap. Mine hardly ever makes crystal clear gel phase. My suspicion is that I stick blend too much and mix air in there. When I dilute, it is clear, so I don't worry about it.

Oh, yeah, butters will make cloudy soap. Not bad soap, mind you, just not clear. Who cares, anyway? I make soap for me and my family. Judgy people can just go make their own soap!

Congratulations!

That looks fine to me, BG -- nicely done! My freshly made LS paste varies in appearance from slightly translucent amber to more opaque white like yours. You may find the paste will become more translucent and amber as time goes on.

Ok, this is interesting.

I started with 200g of soap paste, 100g of water, 9g sodium lactate and 6g sodium citrate.