Mechanic soap?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ToniD

Reaction score
I would like to make a soap for my mechanic sons hands

Any suggestions for how to deal with the "always dirty" look, without having it be totally skin abusive?

I'm not trying to be funny with this suggestion, but buy him a decent set of mechanics gloves. If his gloves are old/dirty, then they are likely saturated in oil/fluids and his hands get filthy just putting the gloves on.

I have to toss my gloves every few months and I'm just a shadetree mechanic. I also use a very aggressive scrub brush that leaves my hands red :(

As for the kerosene suggestion, keep in mind that dirty mechanics hands often have cuts. I don't know if kerosene would irritate them.

Thanks for sharing that thread, dagmar!! excellent stuff.

So those are good questions kommon sense,
(My son does not wear gloves, btw, but it was a good thought)

So, anybody that has made mechanic soap....

Does the kerosene irritate cuts on hands?

It sounds really scary to add kerosene to a batch--what are the extra precautions, if any, that should be taken?

I make a mechanic's soap that I use Pumice in along with a lot of conditioning oils including lanolin. I use 2 oz Pumice for every pound of completed soap. So for my 6 lb mold I am uses 12 oz Pumice. I also use Tallow, OO, Cocoa Butter, Shea Butter, Lanolin & Castor oil. The biggest problems for mechanics (my Grandfather, Uncle, Dad & brother were all mechanics) is that IF they can find something that cleans their hands it leaves them so raw and sore they can hardly stand it. I don't use CO because it is highly cleansing which equals harsher. You really need highly moisturizing/conditioning.

HTH