why is my soap soft?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

emi

Reaction score
I am a beginner and have made 3 batches so far in the last month. The 3rd batch was made 9 days ago on April 1st. I've been curing it and when I checked it today I noticed that it was quite soft. When I press firmly it dents in. Like a slightly ripe avocado. I checked all my oils and their proportions and can't figure out why it turned out soft like this. At first I thought it was the new oil, crisco I was using, but I read that crisco actually makes a hard bar. The only oils I used that turn out a soft bar are castor and avocado, but I only used 10% of each, which is actually less than I used on previous recipes which turned out fine. Can anyone tell me what I may have done wrong? maybe the essential oils?? the aloe?? I only made two 100ml bars.

coconut 30% 36g
avocado 10% 12g
crisco 30% 36g
shea 20% 24g
castor 10% 12g

water 45.6g I used half fresh aloe vera gel and half cucumber juice
lye 16.86g

fragrance: 3.72g (=3.9 ml)
2ml orange essential oil
1.9 ml eucalyptus essential oil

Japanese green tea leaves for exfoliant. about 15 g

I also mixed the lye and oils when they were both around 60-70 degrees. I used frozen aloe and cucumber juice which yielded really cool lye solution. I actually wasn't intending to end up with such a cool lye solution. So I had to cool my oils in the fridge until it got in the temp range of the lye. Can that effect hardness? I read on another soft soap post advising to "soap warmer". Is that what that means? To heat the lye solution and oils to a higher temp before mixing?

ps- I've learned so so much from this forum. Thank you!