Best way to ship cp and mp soap

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

amowrer

Reaction score
I am new to soaping. Like brand new and I was just looking for some advice on best shipping practices. I don't want to sell a 5 dollar bar of soap and then pay 5 dollars for shipping. What is the best way to ship soap? How do you pack it? How much does it cost and how do you keep it from melting? It just seems impossible to make a profit when I have to factor in the shipping costs. Advice please?

One or two bars of soap will usually fit in a bubble envelope and should ship just fine, and for well under $5. I would guess closer to $1 here in the US. I have also never seen a bar soap that will melt in normal shipping conditions. Maybe a very soft bar might get dinged up a little bit, but again, the bubble envelopes provide some protection.

Some sellers offer "free shipping on purchases over $$$ (whatever amount), but most of the time buyer pays shipping.

First, welcome to the forum. You can learn a lot from here. Second, I agree with Craig. I would first work on making coming up with a good formula and making quality soap and then testing it for the long run. After that then you can think about selling it and shipping. There are a number of ways to do that and cost will depend on how much you are shipping and to where in some cases. Also, if you scroll to the bottom of your post it will generally show related posts with information in them.

I have done a lot of research and I found some good recipes I just had a question about shipping

Last edited:
I can well imagine - it's best to look in to how soap making works before getting stuck in. But research is a long way off from being in a place to think about selling soap, it really is. Not being harsh, but I am also not going to pander and sugar my message.