Soap does NOT smell good.. Need help

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

isha

Reaction score
Hi all. I'm new to soaping doing it for couple of months now. My 1st batch cured.. N it stinks.. Kind of chemicals n stale oil smell.. My mom suggested it may be low heavy.. What am I doing wrong...??

This is what I follow
Lye 30%
Superfat at 7%
Olive pomace oil 45
Coconut oil 35
Palm oil 25
N add few drops of essential oils. ( I don't usually weight or count!!! Cos I don't know how and couldn't find the right info anywhere )

So what am I doing wrong???
Feels good while using.. Skin in soft shinny n moisturizes
But kind-of stinks
Any suggestions... Can someone guide me on amount on essential oils to be used.. Per kg weight of oils In grams /ml

Last edited:
I just used lavender essential oil.. N violet food colouring

How do your fats smell? If they have a strong odor or an "off" rancid odor, then your soap will have that same smell at least to some degree.

Only solution for rancid fat is to not use rancid fat (or learn to clean up rancid fat, which is a whole 'nother story that most of us avoid).

A strong odor that is characteristic of the fat can be covered up by an added scent, but you want to choose a scent that will blend or mask the odor and you need to use enough of the scent to do some good.

EOs generally recognized as safe are often used at rates similar to fragrance oils (FOs). A "few drops" is not remotely enough. You should be using more like 1% to 3% EOs by weight of the fats. So 10 to 30 grams EO per 1000 grams of fat.

Need to start weighing your ingredients!

Thanks.. I'm using therapeutic grade essential oils.. Which are quite strong. N hence thought few drops was be enough... I also wanted to know. Is in important to set soaps with diff fragrance in separate curing trays always from each other???