6 batches, 5 CP and 1 HP so far

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Professor_Snape

Potions maker
Reaction score
Hi Everyone ! I've been roaming this Earth for quite a few years, and recently moved back to Western Michigan, where I grew up. I'm new to soap making, but have mixed some interesting potions in the past. So far 5 CP batches and 1 HP batch; all pretty much successful. My last CP batch is a little iffy since I added two extra ounces of canola oil....oops. Came out a bit sticky.

Welcome and Congrats on your successful CP and HP batches! If you don't mind my asking, where did you learn to make soap? YouTube? Book? Neighbor? Grandma? As far as "two extra ounces of canola oil....oops. Came out a bit sticky." -- consider that a "lesson learned" and don't do that any more. LOL I'm dying to hear more about mixing "some interesting potions" ???

Hello and Welcome!! Congrats on making soap and welcome to the addiction. Measuring accurately is so important. Also, using too much canola can make your soap more prone to DOS.

Hey and welcome!

You must use a proper lye calculator and weigh all ingredients. If you deviate from the recipe, you need to re-run the recipe through the calculator.

About your name-I am a huge fan of the Harry Potter series, and while watching DH2 last night (on Freeform's Harry Potter and the Birthday Weekend), I had the bad job of telling my husband that Alan Rickman is now deceased. Choked me up all over again.

Thank you for the warm welcome