Greetings from Belgium

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BaBa

Reaction score
Hi over there!

I am very glad to find this active forum with numerous users! I am a contemporary artist from Belgium, and my goal is to make some huge sculptures in soap. However, as I'm quite new to soap making (with something like 10 lbs already made), I'm making soaps reliable for human consumption before doing anything big :mrgreen:

People in Europe are much more organic orientated than US, as I can see. So I tend to privilege 'natural' ingredients as clays and plant-based tinctures even if I really don't care about titanium dioxyde. Have to match my targets! But as I quite like bold looks and rusticity, that's fine.

Hoping to see you and share our international expertise!

Cheers,

Baba

Hello and welcome!!! It sounds like fun! But DO wear goggle & gloves when you work on soap sculpture. And please DO SHARE your work. We would like to admire soap in the artistic form!!! :p

Hi Baba - nice to meet you and welcome!

When you say soap sculptures, how big are you thinking and where would you showcase them? The soap might eventually go off (spoil so to speak)... are the sculptures ever going to be used as soap? How long are you thinking they would be displayed? I've got so many questions!! Very interesting indeed!

Thank you for your interest! I will surely post things when done :)

@SoapTrey
Actually, applications may vary. While I want a few sculptures to be pretty big (the biggest one in volume should be something like 70 x 60 x 80 centimeters), I'll make others with a much more reasonable size, between 10 x 4 x 6 cm and 80 x 15 x 15.

Sculptures are not meant to be outdoors, except for those devoted to melt with the rain (in Belgium, I'm pretty confident it will melt quickly enough, we have very bad weather
icon_mrgreen.gif