Micas in big batch soap- Ugh??!!

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nautigalsoaps

laVaVoom
Reaction score
I made my first "big batch" of soap, 15lbs. Being that I'm a newbie and could see the soap thickening quickly, I decided on an "in the pot swirl" with 2 micas.
I found by the 4th mold the color was fading. Does anyone know why? Or maybe give me a suggestion to keep the colors vibrant. By the 4th mold the soap looks "washed" out.
Much thanks!

Sorry to say this, but I don't think you ready to sell your soaps. You just said you are a newbie, you need to try your hand on so many batches before you can be ready to sell. Anyways back to your question, some micas are not suitable for cold process. Your sources/supplier should indicate if they work for cold process. Trying buying from suppliers that will state how the micas perform in cold process, if it will morph or fade.... let it stay for awhile, the color might get better. There is always a new lesson to learn from every batch of soap you make, even if you work with the same recipe over and over again.

Rather than assuming that you are selling, I am going to ask you if you are. I can think of no other reason a newbie soapmaker is making 15 lb batches, but I am giving you the benefit of the doubt. The Etsy shop, with nothing in it thus far, is just different enough from your name that I am just asking if you are selling. Are you intending to sell this soap?

Newbies selling soap is one of our "hot button" issues. The reason is that you have no idea what your soap is going to be like in the long haul. You don't know if you are going to get DOS, or how that scent or colorant holds up. And you give every other soapmaker a bad name when you sell bad soap because one someone has a bad experience with hand made soap, they assume all hand made soaps are bad.