Salt Bar emergency

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

vidahlia

Reaction score
So I made 4lbs of salt bars almost 20 hours ago and they haven't set up. They're the texture of pudding still! Any suggestions? I don't want to lose 4lbs of soap.

Post your recipe and technique or there isn't much to go on. Check your scale - does a nickel weigh 5 grams? Is your lye still good? If lye absorbs too much water in storage it weighs more so you end up using too little.

Okay, so I used the same old ratio as always, 2lbs oil, 4.4oz lye, 7oz water, which has always worked.

I used solely sunflower oil for the first 2lb batch, which I've never used before. Maybe that's it?

The second 2lb batch was a mix of sunflower oil and olive oil. And a splash of lemongrass EO.

I didn't measure my salt, but i know I used about half the volume of the oils.

I know it's not a lot to go on, but any ideas? Do you think there's a way to salvage?

You do know that salt bars won't lather without a high amount of coconut don't you? Just for fun, I tried making a salt bar out of regular oils once and it was like trying to wash with a piece of plastic. Really, really hard and zero lather.

Is you salty batter zappy at all? It should have set up by now if everything was measured out properly. Not quite sure how to salvage it since you can't rebatch salt soap. I'd probably toss it and try again but this time, use at least 70% coconut oil and SF at 20%

Not lye heavy. Got the ratio from an experienced soaper. Been using it for a while myself without problem.
Nice tip on the coconut oil. I made a salt bar with olive oil a few months ago, and one with lard, so i never considered using coconut oil. Next time :) thanks for the tip.