Greasy soap?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

three_little_fishes

Reaction score
I got the tomato soap out of the mold and it still looks great. The sides of the loaf are really greasy feeling though and it still feels a little softer than my other soaps. Not like smooshy soft, I can just tell a little bit of a difference between it and my other soaps. This is my first time using cocoa butter and shea for a soap. I'm going to give it until tomorrow before I cut.

Anyway....greasy soap? Normal at times or no? I'll go find the recipe and post it on here too in case that's any help.

Recipe:

2 oz cocoa butter
10 oz coconut oil
25 oz olive oil
4 oz palm oil
3 oz shea butter
13.5 oz water
6.1 oz lye

3 tbs tomato paste added at thin trace or before
3 oz orange EO + 1 oz water

Sometimes with high Olive Oil content, I find that can happen, especially if it starts to overheat a little (sugar in tomatoes). Usually I just unmold and let it sit out in the air for a while and it's fine by the next day. As long as its just greasy and not zapping (after 48 hours) and you didn't get separation in the mold, it will be fine.

Thanks! No separation at all and no zap. I have hope then! I'll cut in the morning and put it in the closet that never gets closed anymore. This house was made for a soap maker. Plenty of HUGE closets with wire shelving! :mrgreen: I didn't even think about the sugar in the tomatoes!

Just my normal ash on the corners....grrrr! I'll work on that problem later. Not really a big deal since it's always just the corners so it's on the end pieces anyway.