New to the Soap Making Forum, and to soap making!

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Curdilicious

Reaction score
hi there everyone,

As the title suggests I'm new to soap making! my name is Clare from the UK and I've been making paper crafting projects for about 7 years now, and I'm lucky enough to say this has become a job for me. Now I need another hobby and I'm hoping that soap making will become just that!

To start with I thought I would try the melt and pour method, and maybe one day I'll move into cold process soap making. I think my problem however is that I always want to run before I can walk, and there seems to be much information out there I get confused, and don't know where to start! I have bought some base, colours and fragrances, and moulds and now need to get started.

I would be very grateful if any of you have any tips or advice for a new starter, particularly any book recommendations that would be available in the UK.

I look forward to making new friendships soon!

Love, Clare x
www.clarecurd.blogspot.com

Hello, I just replied on the other thread but thought I'd add a hello here too!I'm as excited as you but cannot really give you any advice as I haven't actually started yet.With melt and pour I believe as long as you get your amounts of colour and fragrance right you will get good useable soap.Then you get creative with it, think about additives etc.Read right back through the mp section for some great advice, pointers and other peoples experiences with it.See you around the forum -Rachel x

Welcome! I don't know anything about M&P, I started with CP and am mixing in a little HP, but you'll find lots of help here :)

welcome to the forum, M&P is a great place to Start.