Bubble Bath Bars - Cream of Tartar?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
G

I am a newbie but I know there are lots of highly skilled bath & body makers and chemistry gurus here and I could use your help.

I have taken several different recipes for bubble bars and tried each one. They all turned out well and seem to work about the same but each recipe is very different. One recipe I made has cream of tarter in it and one none.

Can someone please tell me what cream of tarter adds to the recipe and what it does as apposed to not using it in the bubble bars?

img1198oh.jpg
[/url]

Uploaded with ImageShack.us[/img]

Hi,

I have never made bubble bars ... actually, I've never taken the time to read their ingredients, LOL. One can only try to poke their head around so much, you know. Anyway, I would think that cream of tartar would make something puff up a bit, hold its shape, or perhaps become a bit shiny, in cooking anyway (for instance, meringue) ... not sure about bubble bars. Now, the ones on the right look delicious ... do you fill those with a jelled something or another? Now I'm curious, so I must go out and see what bubble bars include.

I have been trying to think what I could make that is a small sample that is self-contained ... for instance, I was thinking of using a small candy mold for perhaps not a little soap or bath bomb, but something else and I've just started to give this some thought ... maybe I should be thinking molded scrub or check out what the bubble is all about! I'm gathering these are hand-molded ... is that right?

~ Kathy

I don't know the answer to your question, but wanted to say the bars sure are pretty. I especially like the jelly roll one!

ToniD said:
I don't know the answer to your question, but wanted to say the bars sure are pretty. I especially like the jelly roll one!
Oh, thank you!

birdcharm