Offered recipes and assistance and got attitude?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Skatergirl46

Soaper on wheels
Supporting Member
Reaction score
I worked as an official at my old league's derby game last night and saw a woman who has been a casual friend for a few years. She had a display of her silver jewelry and M&P soaps that she was selling. I have bought many things from her in the past including some soaps. We were chatting and I said something to the effect of, "If you ever have an interest in making soap from scratch, I have recipes that I will share with you if you like." She said something like "I make this." …to which I replied "Yes, I know. I mean if you ever want to make it from the very beginning with the oils and lye etc…" Then the kicker from her, "I don't want lye in my soap, or sulphates!" (said with a superior tone). I explained that I don't add sulphates either or other unnecessary chemicals. She looked like I insulted her when I explained that her soap was also made with lye, but the lye part was done before she bought it. It was obvious that she didn't know that all soap is made with lye of some type. I just said a polite goodnight and went about my business.
I walked away figuratively shaking my head. I won't offer again. She missed out. :p

Some people are just lost in the snow storm. You can offer them a shovel, but you can't force them to use it.

It's a shame that some of these myths are out there, and out there with quite a force, but we can just offer and accept that it is what it is.

Of course, as non-lackwits, we all know there is NO lye in a finished bar of either M&P base or CP soap anyhow....and that actually having lye in one's soap would be a Bad Thing. :)

There's any number of people who do not wish to USE lye, and therefore stick with M&P, and there's nothing wrong with that.