heating and holding

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ToniD

Reaction score
I am having a terrible time heating and holding--can't seem to find a good way to do it. I only have a small hot plate in my workroom. I have tried my crockpot and my electric roaster filled with water and used as a double boiler, but can't seem to get up to temp.

Anyway, suggestions? Please share what you use.

When I started out and was making my sample batches, 8-16ozs, I used one of my smaller stock pots with an inch or so of water and put 2 ceramic mugs into it, one for water phase and one for oil phase. The water always goes a little higher and evaporates so I add 25% more then the recipe calls for.

Clearly this won't work for bigger batches but the only other option is to get another hotplate. I've never used a hot plate before but sounds like you need a bigger one.

Another thought just struck me. Can you buy a couple "Hot Pots"? They are made to heat food, water etc and they definitely heat up to higher temps. They aren't terribly expensive and with 2 you could make up some decent sized batches. I'd still stick with glass (oven safe) or stainless steel bowls for setting inside to make a double broiler out of them.

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00006IUXU/?tag=skimlinks_replacement-20 This one is similar to the one I have and I know it can take water up to a "roiling boil" so definitely hot enough for "Heat & Hold".

Last edited by a moderator:
I use my big stainless steel soup pot, and I place a round cake cooling rack inside on the bottom, like this one:

http://www.amazon.com/Harold-Imports-6- ... 713&sr=8-2