New to soap making.

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jam

Reaction score
Dear All,

Hello, I am new to soap making. I have never made a soap in my life only ever bought them.

I would like to make a soap from scratch. I recently came across "Grandpa Pine Tar Soap", from America. I really love the earthiness of the soap and the fact it is basic in its ingredients and contains no added perfumes.

I would like to make a similar soap. So would appreciate any help and advice.

kind regards

Jam and cream scones.
United Kingdom.

Hi, and welcome, Jam!

You need to do a lot of watching videos before you are ready to make soap. I would start here:

[ame]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yR6ttCSrLJI&list=PLAADF6209996265D2[/ame]

Watch the whole series (don't mix lye in glass or Pyrex!), then we can start making suggestions.

BTW-the pine tar is an advanced technique. You need some experience first.

Welcome. I would not advise trying to learn soapmaking by trying to make a Pine Tar soap. You need to get your soapmaking skills perfected before making a difficult soap like pine tar. Also be aware it can be a high allergen soap if you ever start making it and giving it away. Pine Tar is the allergen

Welcome Jam :)
Even a simple home made soap is very nice. I vote for cold process if you aren't sure which technique to use. We love to ask and answer questions here so don't be shy. And we looove photos of soap, even the crazy failed batch photos!

Dear Millie, Cmzaha, Arianna & Susie.

Thank you for your replies. It seems like I have some watching to do :).

So far I have learnt:

1) That Lye is highly toxic and is used in the "Saponification process". The ratio of fats to lye has to be right otherwise soap can be too hard/soft. Additionally if the Lye has not been blended effectively it can cause irritations.