Medical coding &/or transcription

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
i used to do some transcription and i have some knowledge of medical coding but it's been a while....

Am in college now for RHIT (Registered Health Information Technician) degree but is my first semester. Had 1 class in CPT and ICD basic coding earlier this year before I changed majors.

I'm a transcriptionist, part-time.

I used to do it full time up until a couple years ago, but now just do it part-time.

Is it something I can learn from home? I feel the need to branch out. And I want to have a lot of options under my belt -cuz things are getting scary at my company - again.

I actually kinda fell into it. My wife and I went to one of those seminars you see being held in hotel conference rooms.

She signed up for the course, and I just kind of took it along with her, although I was never actually signed up for it.

Well, she got a job in a medical records office, so stopped doing the course like 2 chapters from the end (where about marketing yourself, so not totally necessary).

Well, with her job, she was dealing with the gal who owned the transcription company (my wife is kind of like the administrator of the program they use), and the gal lost a transcriptionist and needed someone fast. So, my wife told me to go meet with her, and viola.

The hardest part about medical transcription is getting a job. Everyone wants people with experience. HTH do you get experience when nobody will hire you? :roll:

Anyway, it is possible. I've known a couple transcriptionists who also did at-home learning.

You have to be able to make yourself get out of bed and typing every morning. That can be difficult when it's beautiful outside. Although, nowadays, you can just take your laptop outside with ya. :)

Mr Steele, was it an "at home" course? Can you recommend a company?