Question: CP calculations for adding nutrients at trace?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

orangeblossom

Reaction score
So I've been making CP soap for about 7 years, but I've mostly used other peoples recipes. I've started tinkering with my own recipes using soap calculators and I can't figure something out. If I want to add a fat at trace, so only that fat (ex. shea butter) is the superfatted fat, then how do I calculate that? I can't seem to figure that one out on paper or soap calculators. If I want, say an 8% superfatted soap, with just the shea butter being superfatted at trace, then how do I figure out how much shea butter to add? Do I do a percentage from the total weight of oils, or total weight of everything? I hope I'm making sense.

What I"m thinking about doing it taking a soap recipe I have, that has no discounts, then adding shea butter at trace to make it superfatted with just the shea butter, because the other oils have been saponified. So, I'm thinking that if I have 5 lbs. of oils, then I would use 6.4 oz. of shea butter added at trace, which is 8% of the total oils.

Am I making sense? Does anyone know how to do what I'm trying to do? Or know of a soap calculator that can help me figure out how to add fats at trace, and what their % of supperfatting would be?
Thanks!

I used to do something similar, but then I found out that the lye is still active 12 hrs. later and lye does not discriminate. So you wouldn't actually know what oils the lye has "eaten" up.

Irena

Very true, (agree with Irena) there is not way of telling what precentage is left in the soap.

Okay, I see. But still, do I do a % of the total fats to decide how much to superfat or do I do a % of the total of fats, water & lye, to figure out how to superfat?