Cost effective?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Zyk

Reaction score
I was wondering how cost effective is it to make your own soap for home use? Is it viable to sell the soap you make? I have been researching as much as I can but I wanted to get some info to those who are experienced.

It may cost a bit more to make my own but would never go back to manufactured bars. They just don't give me the same feeling as my own.

As far as selling you can but it is suggested after much practice and research. I've been making it for over 2 yrs and thought I was getting to a point I could think about developing a business to go along with my candles and now have been having batch problems. It takes alot and there is a great sticky in one of the forums to help explain all that it entails.

Just enjoy it at first and take good notes!

So much with the cost depends on the ingredients you use. You can make a very nice soap relatively inexpensively by sticking to basic oils and molds.

But you can also really break the bank with this craft. Scents, colors, more expensive oils and butters, molds.....

ToniD said:
So much with the cost depends on the ingredients you use. You can make a very nice soap relatively inexpensively by sticking to basic oils and molds.

But you can also really break the bank with this craft. Scents, colors, more expensive oils and butters, molds.....
agreed!!

for me it is cost effective but also because we are using oils and aromotherpy anyway and we use EO in our everyday life