Vanilla Color Stabilizer

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rusti

Reaction score
I've never used it before, but got the Fruit Loops fragrance from WSP and read that it discolored a little bit and thought I would try a new adventure and ordered the stabilizer to try. Normally I don't mind discoloration - I end up just not coloring the soap and letting it turn whatever color it wants if the warning is there, but I have some glow in the dark skin safe pigment and I wanted to try some bright colors for stocking stuffer soap for the niece and nephews (and one child-like great uncle).

Y'all, is the stabilizer *supposed* to turn the fragrance to mushy goop? I mean, I used it anyway because everything was already laid out and I didn't have any extra of the fragrance to use instead. So far so good, it didn't seem to harm the batter in any way, but I'll admit to being completely thrown when I picked up the little shotglass I weigh my FO into and had to spoon the contents out.

Last edited:
Problem with stabilizer is it will not stop the discoloration for long. If I recall it is used 50/50 with the fragrance. The thickness might depend on the FO. I remember it never did that to my daughters when she was still working with m&p. I am sure it will be fine if you were able to mix it in well. Kinda funny you mentioned it because I am a great one for saying save your money on stabilizer and here I am thinking about trying some in a batch I am getting ready to make, hoping it will keep it until Christmas, in a Cranberry Fig from WSP. I keep trying to use up my daughters supplies

Yes, I expect I'll probably keep a small sliver and see how long it actually lasts. It's just one more thing I have to keep track of when soaping and probably not something I'd be making a habit of using.