Mom needs help. . . .

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

kitterz

Reaction score
Hi all,

My mom is having a bit of a problem with her face at the moment. She currently uses a Clinique face wash and moisturizer, but seems to be suffering with a type of eczema, only on her face.

I have told her that it could be the products she is using and would like to try and make a face wash or moisturizer for her that is a little more natural. I told her to try something new and was wondering if anyone had any recipes they could share with me?

She only seems to have problems on her face at this stage. Can anyone help?

First step, I would try just some plain, unscented, well-aged soap.

I made some that had rosemary EO in it and that helped with that person's excema.

Also, pine tar soap.

I am going to preface this with I am no expert, or doctor, but I have suffered from eczema all my life. I would first tell her to use only cetaphil or something comparable. Not the soap, the cream wash stuff. You lather it on like lotion then wipe it off or rinse. I personally like the wipe off method as it leaves me a bit moisturized and I can avoid using any thing else that might risk a reaction. Once her skin calms down she can then try something new, but she probably needs to get back to point zero first.

I use Genny's shampoo bar for my facial soap and it works really nice but first she needs to get rid of the reaction.

I wish her luck, I know all too well what a struggle it is.

Susie, it is mostly on her cheeks but at the moment has spread up to just under her eyes.

She said it is not worse after being in the sun. It will flare up really bad for a week or two and then calms down and then back again.

Just had a look at her face wash etc and she is using the Clinique 3 step system.