Tallow recipe needed. Thank you.

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sapwn

Reaction score
Finally I found tallow!

DSC00622.jpg

It was not easy to find hear.

I bought 10Kgr that rendered 7.5Kg of oil. I keep it in the freezer at -24oC.

DSC00623.jpg

DSC00624.jpg

Since I am new at soap making and have no experience with tallow, I would like to ask senior members that have used tallow to recommend a simple and tested recipe. I need soap for the shower and for the hands. Bubbles are highly appreciated.

I have coconut oil

Palm oil

Sunflower oil

Olive oil (but I’d rather avoid it)

Castor oil

Almond oil

Some avocado oil left

Shea butter

Cocoa butter

Mango butter

The bars will not be used soon so I am a bit concerned about rancidity. I have this vitamin E oil that i am thinking to use to avoid rancidity. Will it work or not? At what percentage? Should I add it in the oils or in trace?

bo_16_2.jpg

THANK YOU!

Last edited:
Why don't you want to use olive oil?

If you beleive it will be useful in a particular recipe, I will use it. However, i prefer avoiding it because olive oil produces the worse lather you can get from a soap.

That oil is wheat germ oil, not pure vit e.

Yes i know. Will it make any difference in terms of rancidity risk if i add it in a recipe with tallow?

If you beleive it will be useful in a particular recipe, I will use it. However, i prefer avoiding it because olive oil produces the worse lather you can get from a soap.

On it's own, I could see how one might come to that conclusion.
In a well balanced recipe, it'll loose those qualities.

Yes i know. Will it make any difference in terms of rancidity risk if i add it in a recipe with tallow?

Wouldn't bet on it.

You could go for
25% coconut
20% tallow
50% olive oil
8% castor

Thank you mel z!
That thread is full of recipes! Very useful indeed.