Candles made out of lard???

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Auxi

Reaction score
Does anyone know how to make candles out of lard or tallow? We've made candles for years using bees' wax, soy, etc., but have never seen a recipe for candles using lard/tallow. I've heard people talk about it, but last time we tried to make it, it just got the wick all greasy and went out. Anybody have an idea???

I know I can make a pretty good Torch out of Lard to lig, but as far as candles... not sure... I did however find you a tutorial online:

Lard Candle Tutorial

Also , this book has a section it it for Lard, under candle making:

Book

Hope that helps!!

Also... as far as the last time you tried to make it...(I am no expert in candles...) but scientifically speaking, It sounds like there wasnt enough heat to keep the flame going, so I am thinking maybe you need to use a much larger wick with Lard candles?

the reason chandlers and soapmakers tend to be associated is that historically they both used tallow - so I imagine lard can be used although I don't imagine the quality of the candles would be what we are used to with paraffin (or even soy, sigh).

what wicks are you working with?

I have a faint memory of a thread over at candletech (now craftserver) about candles made of just about everything, including a wick stuck into a cannister of crisco!

Great! This has been a lot of help. Looking forward to testing it out.
Oh, as for wicks... I just used a regular candle wick (what we use on all our other candles), that may be a problem... Thank y'all for your input!

No worries! yeah it looked like that kid on the tutorial link i posted was using a pretty large wick...