Do I have a good recipe?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Julie

Reaction score
Hi everyone! I am really new to this forum.

I have made a few batches of basic cold process soap so far, but I am still really new to all of this. I am trying to formulate a recipe which will be simple, while making conditioning, hard and bubbly bars of soap.

I have an idea of a recipe, which I put through SoapCalc, and I will list the results below. What I am wondering is, are they good numbers for what I would like to make, or should I tweak them a bit? I don't want it to be too cleansing, and that number looks rather high to my inexperienced eye. And the bubbliness looks kinda low...:-?

Any advice is greatly appreciated!!! :)

Coconut Oil: 25%
Olive Oil: 25%
Palm Oil: 25%
Castor Oil: 5%
Shea Butter: 5%
Cocoa Butter: 5%
Mango Butter: 5%
Sweet Almond Oil: 5%

__________(Suggested Range) (Your Recipe)
Hardness........... 29 - 54................45
Cleansing............12 - 22...............17
Conditioning........44 - 69................52
Bubbly................14 - 46................22
Creamy..............16 - 48................32
Iodine................41 - 75................53
INS....................136 - 165............158

Hi Julie, welcome to the forum! It is looking pretty good. My recommendation would be to try one specialty oil or butter at a time around 10% so you know what each one brings to the table before combining them. You can use more olive and/or palm to make up the difference. Also try it with and without castor oil so you can see the difference there too. In some recipes it makes a big difference and in others I could take it or leave it.

As I look into my crystal ball I see many recommendations for less coconut oil and lots of lard :)

1. Coconut Oil %20
2. Olive Oil %40
3. Cocoa Butter %20
4. Shea Butter %15
5. Castor Oil %5