Craft Fair Notes (feel free to add)

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TBandCW

Reaction score
Filling out applications for this years farmers markets and various craft fairs, I'm by no means an expert, but thought I'd share a few things I've learned along the way.

Be there early, you can score a good spot if you haven't been assigned one yet, or you can change if needed.

Bring as much product as you can. A full table looks and sells better.

Don't leave or pack up before closing time, it's not fair to other vendors and the folks that run the show don't appreciate it. I actually scored a free booth at a show when the organizers had everyone who stayed till the end put their cards in a hat and my name was picked! Value $120!

I've only done one tiny craft show, but I noticed:
a) Bring LOTS of change. Folks paying for 2 bars of soap with a $20 will wipe you out fast.
b) For larger sales, throw in a freebie. At my teensy craft show I sold somebody 10 bars for stocking stuffers, and I threw in a lip balm for her...then she came back and bought a bunch of lip balm!
c) Put the craft show on your Facebook page. Even if you don't have a particularly big web presence, the show organizer in my case really appreciated that I was doing what I could to promote the craft show.

Bring: papertowel, tape, alcohol (I clean off my lids on jars), water, markers, signs, business cards, paper/notebook and bags.

I always give something extra with large purchases (scrubbies, lip balm, soap savers, etc).

Relax, smile & have fun. You know your products, be proud of them.