Scraps

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Katrax

Reaction score
Hello .. I am new to CP Soap making and have now made over 100 bars in a short time - addictive!
However, when I package some or just trim them, I have lots of scraps left over. So far I have been putting them
in a bowl saving them - but what can I do with them now? Re-batch? I don't want to waste them.

You can throw them into your next batch of soap & have confetti soap.

I use a lot of my scraps by using them in the shower with a soap saver. Just in case you don't know what that is, it's a crocheted (or in some cases knitted or netted) bag that you can put the soap in to use it.
Mine look like this

Thanks for the info. How do you do crock pot soap? Do you use more lye or just heat up the scraps in the crock pot?

2lilboots said:
or grate up and make laundry soap

That's a good idea. Does it matter at all that they're different? Different ingredients i.e., some with shea butter some with cocoa butter and I also only use essential oils not fragrance oils. Will any of that matter?

Katrax said:
2lilboots said:

That's a good idea. Does it matter at all that they're different? Different ingredients i.e., some with shea butter some with cocoa butter and I also only use essential oils not fragrance oils. Will any of that matter?

It didn't seem to matter for the laundry soap I made. I ended up adding lavender FO to my finished batch of laundry soap but once washed I don't smell the FO, but my clothes do smell clean. Now I make the liquid type, where you grate the soap melt it in boiling water then add the borax and washing soda and stir til disolved.

2lilboots said:
Katrax said:
2lilboots said: