Need a "hands free" soap mixing method

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

aab1

Reaction score
I'm relatively new to soap making, I started over a year ago making some only very occasionally for my own use and for gifts. I finally got proper molds and want to start a business selling natural soaps.

The biggest problem for me is the mixing, 2 days ago I made 2 batches of soap which ended up requiring 4 hours of constant mixing each before getting trace, so I pretty much mixed soap from 7 PM to 4 AM non stop! Normally it takes me only up to an hour.

I use a paint mixing attachment on a cordless drill, but of course with how long it takes the battery doesn't last 4 hours of non stop use to I need to charge it at least once or twice during the process. I also need to limit the drill's speed otherwise it splashes all other the place.

So I realize if I want to make soap regularly I need a hands free way to mix so I can do something else while it mixes.

I was thinking either a blender or stand mixer, but am leaning towards a stand mixer since they can hold much more at once and there's no risk of the mixture damaging gaskets and the mixture leaking out. Not to mention they last much longer than a blender.

So before spending $500 or so on a stand mixer I'd like to know what others think and if there's a better option. I think it would be perfect as I can adjust the speed precisely to avoid whipping the soap and could make large batches.

Thank you

How big are those batches ?

I am sure a handyman can find a cheap mounting method for your setup.

However, I suspect that you simply don't have enough power. Why are you running on batteries ? Don't you have an electrical outlet / extension chord ?

4 hours isn't right, there must be ways to accelerate trace.