Designing your own soap recipe?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PeridotSoap

Reaction score
Hello all :)

I am a big soap newbie, but am having fun messing around with some simple recipes and other bath/body recipes for the moment.

If I eventually start selling my products (which is the dream in a few years once I have more experience!) I don't want to be selling another soaper's recipe!

I just wondered how people go about creating their own soap recipes? Is there a set of general guidelines to follow eg. percentages of hard/soft oils and butters? If I knew what oils and butters I wanted in my recipe, how would I work out how much of each to go in to make a successful batch and not a slimey mess?

I know I could play around, and each recipe is personal to the soaper, but I am currently just soaping around my other job, and my funds currently hold me back from going too wild! So I would appreciate a starting point.

Any help you could give me would be much appreciated :) And at the moment my focus is on CP soaps, if that makes a difference! Thank you! <3

Go to SoapCal and read all the information there. For myself, I want a hard bar with good bubbly and creamy lather and high conditioning values. Using the SoapCalc lye calculator helps me to design a bar that meets my requirements. But most of all practice, practice, practice until you know what oils and butters will give you the soap that has the qualities you desire.