Help with lotion recipe

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kay

Reaction score
I'm very new to lotion recipes. I've only made two, and those were recipes I've found online. I'm wanting to make my own recipe, but I really don't know what percentages, amounts of each to use.

Oils I'm wanting to use are Mango butter, Cocoa Butter, Castor oil, and Sunflower oil. I'll be using Beeswax and I guess Borax. For the water, I'm wanting to use Aloe Vera juice. My problem is, I don't know how much of each of these to add to make, say 16 oz. total. Would someone please help me? I really would appreciate it! Oh, and should I add cornstarch to this recipe? If so, how much?

Last edited:
No, I think what I'm going to try is this.

1/4 cup Beeswax
1/4 cup Mango Butter
1/4 cup Coconut Oil
1/4 cup Castor Oil
1/4 cup Sunflower Oil
1 tsp Cornstarch
5 Vitamin E capsules

With there being no water in this recipe, I shouldn't need a preservative. This is a small batch that just myself and my husband will be using, so I think I'll be ok.

What are the best preservatives?

That depends on what you are preserving and what the application use for the product will be. Every preservative has different properties and usage for the different products.
Once that is figured out, then it becomes a matter of personal preference, so can be suggestive.

No, I think what I'm going to try is this.

1/4 cup Beeswax
1/4 cup Mango Butter
1/4 cup Coconut Oil
1/4 cup Castor Oil
1/4 cup Sunflower Oil
1 tsp Cornstarch
5 Vitamin E capsules

With there being no water in this recipe, I shouldn't need a preservative. This is a small batch that just myself and my husband will be using, so I think I'll be ok.

Kay please let us know how its going on the lotion, because I want to try my hand at t next week. How does the beeswax behave?
I do love tropical scents!