Barbershop blend

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Meirion658

Reaction score
Afternoon all I'm looking to create an essential oil blend for shaving soap that replicates my favourite scent soap. I've researched into the scent and identified the main essential oils but have no idea of quantities of each oil to make the blend.

Recipe one -Oils include
Bergamot
Patchouli
Lavender
Ceaderwood
Basil

Recipe two - oils include
Bergamot
Oak moss
Basil
Patchouli

Any suggestions of blends would be great fully received

I'm very new to scent blending myself and especially manly scents is a real mystery to me so I won't be of any help. But maybe you could tell us what brand you are trying to replicate?

I'm guessing it's a fragrance oil because they advertise the use of essential oils in their other shaving soaps. If it is just those essential oils though, it is not many so you should be able to get something similar if you have the patience. In general though, I don't feel good about taking the custom fragrance or design from an artisan soap maker, so if you are just doing it to learn and enjoy for yourself, go ahead. But if you sell, try to make it your own ;)

Edit: Found it!

"Vibrant Bergamot and fresh basil leaf are complemented by earthy notes of Oakmoss and white patchouli" http://www.wholesalesuppliesplus.com/products/barber-shoppe-fragrance-oil.aspx

"Vibrant Bergamot and fresh basil leaf are complemented by earthy notes of Oakmoss and white patchouli" http://www.wholesalesuppliesplus.com/products/barber-shoppe-fragrance-oil.aspx

I have that one... it sounded great but was disappointing ... it's kinda "eh" ... My nose wasn't impressed. I don't care for WSP's fragrances in general... don't last and don't smell that great to begin with... you hafta go thru a hundred to find one "keeper". But that's just me.