Strange reaction / body lotion expanding?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BelleGuzelCo

Reaction score
Hello everyone, Im new to these forums!

So.. I have been making lotions for about 4 years, but recently just changed one of my recipes by adding Dimethicone at 1%, ran it through my calculator and took out 1% of water phase. ( just a small test batch )

In my recipe I use Rice Milk (organic, same brand as always) . Never had a problem before..

I add Optiphen Plus, at 2% when finished. Everything was fine, so i bottled it up.

That was about 2 weeks ago, and today I went over to my storage shelf and saw that all the bottles had lotion leaking out the top and had expanded so much that the bottoms were round and falling over!! I opened one up carefully over my trash bin and it exploded everywhere, also had a bad smell to it? I did use a new fragrance...

I have no idea what happened.. The Rice Milk was fresh, and my ingredients were not expired? Could it be some kind of chemical reaction?
Any help would be appreciated! Going to change the recipe again in the meantime...

Honestly it sounds like the rice milk fermented, is there anything that would have inactivated the Optiphen?
Really? I've never had it happen before.. It did have a sort of "rotten eggs" sulfuric kind of smell to it when i opened the bottle of lotion..

I occasionally use Dimethicone in my lotion and never had a reaction like that. If your milk went bad in all the jars, your lotion got contaminated somewhere along the line.

What temperature was the Optiphen added? Also, did you check to see if there were any recent recalls for the rice milk? there have been quite of few major ones these last few months.